Gen-Y State of Mind..

944143_10201605564965028_173713296_n

“I am not afraid of storms, for I am learning how to sail my ship”

Louisa May Alcott

If you think this is going to be a preachy entry, you couldn’t be more spot-on. That is exactly what this is, so I’ll improvise. WHAT DOESN’T KILL YOU MAKES YOU STRONGER. This doesn’t necessarily apply to acts of daredevilry , I’ve come to understand, in my short life and limited experience. BUT! if  there’s one thing I can say with pride, it’s that I’ve never NOT shirked from an opportunity, if it ever presented itself (see what I did there?). Much as it is with us GEN-Y and our fleeting attention span, opportunities everyday, laid out for us to just DO SOMETHING.

 

We want everything, and we want it now. What we’re doing to get it, is a discussion for another day (see what i did there AGAIN? ). Though we do tend to look for easy ways out. Nobody wants to do their due diligence. Can you blame them? The world is moving by a hundred miles a second, and if you’re not catching up, WHAT ARE YOU EVEN DOING?

Needless to say, this is all certainly overwhelming, but not impossible, I’m hopeful to discover. We’re running, catching up, forgetting some, figuring out some. It’s just how life is, and I’d like to think if I could catch up, without losing track of what really matters, I’ll sleep just fine.

I’m no different from your run-of-the-mill-confused-fresh-adult; confused about the future, religion (perennially agnostic), political stances (shifting left), what have you. On the one hand we have our dreamer, head in the clouds, glass half full, pot of gold at the end of the rainbow and on the other, we’re this cynical, output driven, by the book breed. We’re both these people, and the end game is the perfect balance, and it’s alright if that takes a while, I think. It should For only then, we’ll have truly discovered ourselves. I say it’s perfectly alright, this confusion, why,it’s a plus.

I can never really know if i want something as bad as I think I do, if I haven’t battled through the confusion.

So i think I’m going to give myself some time. Enjoy,nay, love and accept this confused state of mind and NEVER let go of that wide-eyed dreamer, for then I’ll know, surely I’ll know the eventual purpose. I might have one already, but I’ll let time and experience be the judge, perhaps do my due till I know for absolutely certain, the solution to your, mine and our ever so ever so prevalent existential crisis.

 

Picture  credits @THEFlimyowl

2 thoughts on “Gen-Y State of Mind..

Leave a Reply

